<< Go Back to Past Meetings

2016 Annual Scientific Meeting

September 17-20, 2016 | Orlando, Florida

Watch all of the great educational content from the 20th Annual Scientific Meeting, anytime and anywhere! Annual Scientific Meeting On-Demand 2016 provides you complete access to the program, which includes basic science, translational and clinical science. For more information, click on the button below.


Physicians: The Heart Failure Society of America is accredited by the Accreditation Council for Continuing Medical Education to provide continuing medical education for physicians. The Heart Failure Society of America designates this live activity for a maximum of 24.75 AMA PRA Category 1 Credits.™ Successful completion of this CME activity, which includes participation in the evaluation component, enables the participant to earn up to 14.50 MOC points in the Maintenance of Certification (MOC) program. It is the CME activity provider’s responsibility to submit participant completion information to ACCME for the purpose of granting ABIM MOC credit.

Nurses: This Program Has Been Approved by the American Association of Critical Care Nurses (AACN) for 24.00 Contact Hours Synergy CERP Category A, File Number 00019783.

Pharmacists: Only the 16 sessions listed below are accredited for continuing pharmacy education. The CU Skaggs School of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences is accredited by the Accreditation Council for Pharmacy Education as a provider of continuing pharmacy education (CPE). Pharmacists may earn up to 21.25 hours of knowledge-based CPE. To earn credit, participants must use the 5-digit code provided at the end of each accredited presentation to access the online program evaluations posted on ipharmCE.UCDenver.edu. Once evaluations are completed, CPE will be uploaded to CPE monitor within 2 days.

New Horizons in Nutrition
ACPE# 0008-9999-16-179-L01-P (2.0 contact hours – knowledge-based)

The Prevention of Heart Failure (joint session w AHA)
ACPE# 0008-9999-16-132-L01-P (2.0 contact hours – knowledge-based)

Human is Cells: From Precision Medicine to Clinical Trial in a Dish
ACPE# 0008-9999-16-133-L01-P (1.25 contact hours – knowledge-based)

Management of HFpEF in 2016
ACPE# 0008-9999-16-134-L01-P (1.5 contact hours – knowledge-based)

Managing HF in a Multiple Comorbid Condition World-It’s Complicated
ACPE# 0008-9999-16-135-L01-P (1.0 contact hours – knowledge-based)

My Patients Do What I Tell Them or Do They?
ACPE# 0008-9999-16-136-L01-P (1.5 contact hours – knowledge-based)

Hyperkalemia: Implication for Heart Failure Management
ACPE# 0008-9999-16-137-L01-P (1.5 contact hours – knowledge-based)

Clinical Fundamentals II: Discharging Patients After AHF Admission
ACPE# 0008-9999-16-138-L01-P (1.25 contact hours – knowledge-based)

Case Discussions: Clinical Conundrums
ACPE# 0008-9999-16-139-L01-P (1.5 contact hours – knowledge-based)

Updates in HF Pharmacology
ACPE# 0008-9999-16-140-L01-P (1.5 contact hours – knowledge-based)

Neprilysin Inhibitors: Clinically Available, Now What?
ACPE# 0008-9999-16-141-L01-P (1.5 contact hours – knowledge-based)

How-To: Have Tough Discussions with Patients and Families-Critical Condition
ACPE# 0008-9999-16-142-L01-P (1.0 contact hours – knowledge-based)

Case-Based Debate
ACPE# 0008-9999-16-143-L01-P (1.5 contact hours – knowledge-based)

Preventing and Treating Rejection: A Primer for the Cardiac Transplant Physician
ACPE 0008-9999-16-144-L01-P (1.25 contact hours – knowledge-based)

Implementing Novel Therapies to Improve Outcomes in Our Patients
ACPE# 0008-9999-16-145-L01-P (1.25 contact hours – knowledge-based)

In-Hospital Worsening HF: What is This?
ACPE# 0008-9999-16-146-L01-P (1.25 contact hours – knowledge-based)


2016 Lifetime Achievement Award
Sponsored by Cytokinetics
Marc Alan Pfeffer, MD, PhD

For a complete list of past HFSA Lifetime Achievement Award winners, visit www.hfsa.org/awards

2016 Nursing Leadership Award Winner
Sponsored by Cytokinetics
Lisa Rathman, MSN, CRNP, CCRN, CHFN

For a complete list of past HFSA Nursing Leadership Award winners, visit www.hfsa.org/awards

2016 HFSA Clinical Excellence in Nursing Award Winner
Peggy Kirkwood, RN, MSN, ACNPC, CHFN, AACC

For a complete list of past HFSA Clinical Excellence in Nursing Award winners, visit www.hfsa.org/awards

JNC New Investigator Integrative Physiology/Clinical Award
1st Place: Ali Javaheri, MD, PhD
Washington University School of Medicine
Apolipoprotein M improves survival in congestive heart failure via enhanced Akt signaling

Runner up: Kevin Morine, MD
Tufts Medical Center
Neutralizing Endoglin Activity Rescues Maladaptive Remodeling in Heart Failure

JNC New Investigator Basic Science Award

1st Place: Jeffrey D. Wessler, MD, MPhil
Columbia University Medical Center
Salt taste sensitivity in acute decompensated heart failure

Runner up: Faisal M. Merchant, MD
Emory University School of Medicine
Incidence and Time Course for Developing Heart Failure Following Dual Chamber Pacemaker Implant in Patients with Complete Atrioventricular Block

 Nursing Investigator Research Award

Nursing Investigator Research Award
1st Place: Miyeon Jung, PhD, RN
Indiana University School of Nursing
How to Improve Attention in Patients with Heart Failure: a Psychological Approach

Runner up: Martha Abshire, MSN, RN
Johns Hopkins University
Depression, Fatigue and Sleep Quality are Associated with Quality of Life among Patients with Left Ventricular Assist Device

2016 Posters & Abstracts

2016 Annual Meeting Program Committee Co-Chairs
John C. Burnett, Jr., MD
Mona Fiuzat, PharmD
Gregg Fonarow, MD
Debra Moser, PhD, RN

2016 Annual Meeting Program Committee Members
Larry Allen, MD, MHS
Amrut V. Ambardekar, MD
Barry Bleske, PharmD
Barry A. Borlaug, MD
Javed Butler, MD, MPH
Patricia M. Davidson, RN, BA, MEd, PhD
Victoria Vaughan Dickson, PhD, CRNP, MSN
Peter M. Eckman, MD
Adrian F. Hernandez, MD
James Louis Januzzi, MD
Robb Kociol, MD
Mariell Jessup, MD
Terry A. Lennie, PhD
Kenneth B. Margulies, MD
Colleen McIlvennan, DNP, ANP
Shawn M. Merhaut, MSN, CNP
Gina Mentzer, MD
Ali Nasir, MD
Christopher Newton-Cheh, MD, MPH
Robert L. Page II, PharmD, MSPH
Peter S. Pang, MD
Lisa D. Rathman, MSN, CRNP
Joseph G. Rogers, MD
Sanjiv J. Shah, MD
Jeffrey M. Testani, MD
Christine Thompson, MS, BS
Orly Vardeny, PharmD
David J. Whellan, MD, MHS
Jia-Rong Wu, PhD, RN, MSN
Clyde W. Yancy, MD, MSc